Art Break Day

Art Break Day

Art break day!
As I have been rushing around with projects, I have been slowly preparing for Art Break Day. Several months ago I applied and was accepted to be a host of the day, by A very cool organization called ArtisMoving. They sent me 500 dollars worth of art supplies which I have been lugging around with me, for this occasion. Today, me and many other hosts set up the art supplies at a table in a public space in different cities around the world. Here in Quaga, I set up the table at my old neighborhood, and within minutes there were kids everywhere, kids I have watched grow up slowly over the past three years. I love Africa, and today was an opportunity to see why. If I had done this project in France, I would be trying to coax people into approaching, but here, there was not space at the table, so some kids brought out a big bench, and then some car tires to sit on, There were adults, and kids, everyone drawing making art. It was really a fun day. The organization asked me to take some testimonials from people, so I recorded a few people explaining why they believe art is important. Most people here don’t write, nor do they speak English, but I have audio recordings in french of people explaining why they think art is important. What an inspiring day!

3 Comments

September 8, 2013 · 1:02 pm

3 responses to “Art Break Day

  1. baba

    What a gift for your Ouaga neighbors. Great concept. Good outreach on your part and ART BREAK. xo baba

  2. Shaun Hubbard

    You are an art angel, Maria!

  3. Debbie Kaye

    So Cool, Maria! The photos must be terrific, too.

Leave a Reply

