Around Monterrey

Ok, so I woke up yesterday, in the house of the family that took me home last night. I recorded some of their family stories, which was fun, as their experiences were so different through the generations. Then I biked the last few miles that I never made it in to Monterrey, just in time for the farmers market. The farmers market in Monterrey is big and lovely. I set up my cart right next to a wonderful woman who served savory crepes. She recorded a piece, and gave me a beautiful crepe, full of yummy things. Sadly, when I got home, my computer crashed so much for the uncrashable mac. I lost all of the recordings from the farmers market. So if you recorded there, and you read this, please write a not to this site, and we can figure out a way to do it again. Maybe by phone. Because you were wonderful, and I want your story!

(Pictures- Above Left, My couch surfing friend Rachel, Above Right, Her family. Lower Left Me and my family friend Annie Pennington, Lower Right My sad weather Report.)

In the evening, I set off to our family friends house, the Penningtons. I haven’t seen them since I was in first grade, but they are great, fun, generous people, and I did a load of laundry and spent time with them. Their son is leaving this morning on a multiple month long sailing trip with his girlfriend, to Mexico and the South Pacific. The last recording is of them talking about their plans.

Here are all of them for today-

jan26-around Monterrey

I am leaving Monterrey for Big Sir this morning, and have no idea about internet access there. So it might be a few days before I post again.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Around Monterrey

  1. Buffie

    Maria!

    This is about the coolest thing in the entire world!

    I will continue to watch this blog and live through you!

    Congrats on this amazing project!

    • Maria

      Thanks Buffie! I cant wait till we see each other again somewhere like portland.

      • Maria

        You were rad to meet too. Thank you for your hosptality. Also, I left some tortillas in the fridge, in teh middle upper side. maybe they are bad now, but you are welcome to them if you want.

Leave a Reply

