The Kindness of Strangers in Aptos

The storm over Santa Cruz broke and I grabbed my opportunity to begin a journey further south. I didn’t make it to far, but got on the path so that I can set out earlier in the morning today. Unfortunately my plans for where I would spend the night fell through, and I found myself wondering if I could make it all the way to Watsonville before it got dark. I started looking for a place to hang my hammock, so that I could set up and record a little in Aptos. I pulled into a building called the Aptos Christian Fellowship, and asked them if I could camp on their property. What incredible people!!! They are clearly walking the talk of their God and Jesus, because their generosity to me was incredible. I slept in their youth room, and their wonderful youth programs manager Jenny took me out to dinner at a fun BBQ place in Aptos. Their recordings are here:

1-23 Aptos

Now, I am off to Watsonville, and then south, to stay at a friends house for the night.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Kindness of Strangers in Aptos

  1. Sheryl Bush Sessions

    Hi Maria! I LOVE what you are doing! I have been involved in storytelling as healing path for mental health clients. I see your journey as a stream of healing connections, both inner and and with others. Best of luck to you. And, BTW, although I am now in Oregon, I used to go to Aptos Christian Fellowship and know Marshal and Stacey well. Aren’t they great?

  2. Debbie Kaye

    Hi, Maria! Thanks for having a blog so we can travel with you on this so-interesting journey.
    We were at Uncle Tom’s and Sary’s yesterday for Lila’s birthday. We thought and spoke of you. Baba was there, too.
    love, Aunt Debbie

  3. We will continue to follow your journey! Wonderful to meet you! Glad you enjoyed the blueberry muffins and lunch. You were such an inspiring person to host.

Leave a Reply

